Taking a mental health day

How often do you take a day off when you are not physically sick? I have called in exactly once in the more than three years I’ve been at my job.
I was stuck in a blizzard in another state. Not much I could do about it.
However, today I’m taking a day for me. Not because I’m sick but because I simply need a break. I took time off at the start of the month but that break hasn’t carried over.
Right now I’m laying in bed with a headache caused by the height of my pillows more than anything and a sore hip that just feels bruised on the outside. My stomach is upset and I’m feeling relief at having the day away from work but dreading the return tomorrow.
How important is it to you that you take mental health days? Or are you like me and you hate the thought of taking a day for anything short of an emergency?

One response to “Taking a mental health day

  1. I’ve done it many a time. I kind of hate to lie about why I’m not coming into work but at the same time I had to for my sanity. No worries.

Leave a Reply

