Be Not Afraid

Wayfaring RN

Fear is a very complex emotion. It drives people to do things they never thought they could, or would. It paralyzes others into inaction, gripping their hearts with ice-cold hands. Fear can be a creator of new experiences or a catalyst for overcoming new challenges. It can also be a wall of bricks in your path when your car has just lost its brakes.

Fear is why, when confronted with a choice regarding my chemotherapy, I always stall a bit. I always try to buy more time to think and consider my options. And even when the decision is clear, I still feel that tugging in my chest, that nagging sensation of fear creeping, ever so easily into my consciousness, past all the defenses I try so hard to build to keep it out.

I’m due to start new medications this week, because the tumor is stable. And that isn’t…

View original post 318 more words

Leave a Reply

